About IQAC

In pursuance of its Action Plan for performance evaluation, assessment and accreditation and quality up-gradation of institutions of higher education, the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore proposes that every accredited institution should establish an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) as a post-accreditation quality sustenance measure. Since quality enhancement is a continuous process, the IQAC will become a part of the institution’s system and work towards realisation of the goals of quality enhancement and sustenance. The prime task of the IQAC is to develop a system for conscious, consistent and catalytic improvement in the overall performance of institutions. For this, during the post-accreditation period, it will channelize all efforts and measures of the institution towards promoting its holistic academic excellence.


The primary aim of IQAC is
  • To develop a system for conscious, consistent and catalytic action to improve the academic and administrative performance of the institution.
  • To promote measures for institutional functioning towards quality enhancement through internalization of quality culture and institutionalization of best practices.


IQAC shall evolve mechanisms and procedures for
  • Ensuring timely, efficient and progressive performance of academic, administrative and financial tasks;
  • The relevance and quality of academic and research programmes;
  • Equitable access to and affordability of academic programmes for various sections of society;
  • Optimization and integration of modern methods of teaching and learning;
  • The credibility of evaluation procedures;
  • Ensuring the adequacy, maintenance and proper allocation of support structure and services;
  • Sharing of research findings and networking with other institutions in India and abroad.


Some of the functions expected of the IQAC are:
  • Development and application of quality benchmarks/parameters for various academic and administrative activities of the institution;
  • Facilitating the creation of a learner-centric environment conducive to quality education and faculty maturation to adopt the required knowledge and technology for participatory teaching and learning process;
  • Arrangement for feedback response from students, parents and other stakeholders on quality-related institutional processes;
  • Dissemination of information on various quality parameters of higher education;
  • Organization of inter and intra institutional workshops, seminars on quality related themes and promotion of quality circles;
  • Documentation of the various programmes/activities leading to quality improvement;
  • Acting as a nodal agency of the Institution for coordinating quality-related activities, including adoption and dissemination of best practices;
  • Development and maintenance of institutional database through MIS for the purpose of maintaining /enhancing the institutional quality;
  • Development of Quality Culture in the institution;
  • Preparation of the Annual Quality Assurance Report (AQAR) as per guidelines and parameters of NAAC, to be submitted to NAAC.


IQAC will facilitate / contribute
  • Ensure heightened level of clarity and focus in institutional functioning towards quality enhancement;
  • Ensure internalization of the quality culture; Ensure enhancement and coordination among various activities of the institution and institutionalize all good practices;
  • Provide a sound basis for decision-making to improve institutional functioning;
  • Act as a dynamic system for quality changes in HEIs;
  • Build an organised methodology of documentation and internal communication.

Office Order

As per the UGC Guidelines, the Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) in the Rathinam College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore has been constituted for planning, guiding and monitoring quality assurance and quality enhancement activities of the institution w.e.f April 2007. It comprises of the following members during the Academic year 2019-2020.

IQAC Members

Name of the Member Designation
Prof. R. Manickam, CEO Chairperson
Dr. Madan A. Sendhil, Chairman Member
Mr. R. Sundar, Advisor (Industrial) Member
Mr. Rajagopal, Advisor (Industrial) Member
Mr. D. Boominath, Administrative Officer Local Society
Mr. S. Dhinakaran, Controller of Examinations Member
Dr. Richard Robert Raa, Head / English Member
Mrs. T. M. Hemalatha, Head / Commerce Member
Mr. K. Sargurunathan, Head / Mathematics Member
Prof. V. Raman, Dean / Viscom Member
Mrs. Karthiga, Head/ CDF Member
Dr. Chitra, Head / Management – PG Member
Dr. T. Hemalatha, Head/Management – UG Member
Mr. S. Dhinesh, CEO, Hackup Technology, Coimbatore (Industrial) Member
Dr. Srividhya, Dean/Commerce Member
Mr. G. Purushothoman, Placement Officer Member
Mr. Vinothkumar, III CT Member
Mr. Prashanth Prabhu, Alumni (Wipro) Member
Dr. R. Muralidharan, Principal – Academics Co-ordinator
Prof. R. Manickam, CEO & Principal Chairperson
Dr. Madan A. Sendhil, Chairman (Management Member) Member
Mr. S. Alagan, Executive Director (Management Member) Member
Mr. R. Sundar, Retired GM – L&T, Coimbatore (Industrial Member) Member
Mr. Rajagopal, Entrepreneur, Bangalore (Management Member) Member
Mr. S. Kirubasrinivasan, Bluechip Corporate Investment Centre, Ramanathapuram, Coimbatore (Industrial) Member
Mr. S. Arivazhagan, Local Representative Member
Dr. S. R. Madhan Shankar, Dean – Academics & Research Member
Dr. A. K. Nalina, Head / English Member
Dr. K. Kumuthadevi, Dean/Commerce Member
Mrs. T. M. Hemalatha, Head / Commerce (CA) Member
Mr. K. Sargurunathan, Head / Mathematics Member
Mr. V. Sathishanand, HoD / Viscom Member
Mrs. G. Manoprabha, Head/ CDF Member
Dr. S. Subhashini, Head / Management – PG Member
Dr. T. Hemalatha, Head/Management – UG Member
Mr. S. Raja, HoD – CT Member
Mr. A. Uthiramoorthy, HoD – CA Member
Mrs. K. Renuka, HoD – CS Member
Dr. K. Juliana Ganaselvi, HoD – IT Member
Mr. S. Harikaran, HoD – Commerce (IT) Member
 Dr. V.T. Dhanaraj, HoD – Commerce (PA)  Member
 Dr. G. Gabriel Prabhu, HoD – Commerce (B&I)  Member
 Dr. C. Kanagaraj, HoD – Biotechnology  Member
 Dr. P. Srinivasan, HoD – Microbiology  Member
 Dr. G. Sajeethkumar, HoD – Psychology  Member
 Mrs. D. Umamaheswari, HoD – Physics (i/c)  Member
 Mr. R. Hariharan, Placement Officer  Member
 Dr. S. Dhinakaran, Controller of Examinations  Member
 Mr. I. Santhosh, Administrative Officer  Member
 Mr. S. Sruthi, Nimble Wireless Ltd (Alumni)  Member
 Ms. S. M. Sathiya (17BMA036), III B.Sc. Maths  Member
 Dr. R. Muralidharan, IQAC Coordinator  Co-ordinator